Jump to content

  •  

- - - - -

Upgrade from IP. 3.4.x to IPS4.0

ips4

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 thelinkz

thelinkz

    Special Moderator

  • Special Moderator
  • 272 posts

Posted 04 May 2015 - 06:15 PM

Quote


Upgrade from IP. 3.4.x to IPS4.0
I am bringing this back again seeing there are still many that want to know how to upgrade.
This is an updated version from my original post where the upgrade is explained from start to finish.
So you think you are ready to take the plunge and try a test install / upgrade from your current IP Board to the current IPS4.0 beta and later to the final release. Well we will see.
{Comment} The following steps are with the assumption you have already created a test install of your current board and made all the preparations leaving your current live board intact.
If Not then see the following article. Creating a Duplicate Local Test board from you Live Board. at the bottom of this article.
Step One.

1st, Download and run Get Ready For IPS 4.0 1.0.3 to test your current install to see if it is in fact ready. you can get your copy here. http://community.invisionpower.com/files/file/7046-get-ready-for-ips-40/
OK! all is green and good to go then skip the next step and continue on.
But you are showing errors that need to be fixed. OK it's not the end of the world so there is no need to find a cliff or skyscraper to jump from. Download and run IPS UTF8 Database Converter 1.1.13 you can get it here. http://community.inv...base-converter/
Run the converter and let it do its thing, it will take a while. When this is finished re run Get Ready For IPS 4.0 1.0.3 to make sure all previous errors are fixed. If so we can go forward if not now you can find that cliff or skyscraper. NO Just Kidding!!! But you may want contact support with any errors.

Step Two.

1st, Make a backup of your Database call it whatever you like as long as you know where to go if the need comes up.

2nd, Here is a trick I use on my local due to a few corrupt downloads that failed causing me to start a test installs from scratch.

1, Create a _347 folder in your root directory and move all your files into it. Another backup you say? Yep! To go along with the above database backup should something go south on you.

2, Providing you have IP.Downloads copy these files back to your Forum Root Directory from the _347folder.
Copy the following folders, downloads, public, screenshots and uploads along with your conf_global.php file. Otherwise only public, uploads and conf_ global.php will due.

3, Copy all the files from the IPS4.0 zip file you downloaded from your clients center to your new test install directory. From your browser go to your test install site http://example.com/admin/upgrade/ and begin the upgrade process.......... Go to Site!
If the upgrader asks for your license key, add it but remember to use -TESTINSTALL immediately after the license key. 1234567890-12345-123-12345-1234567890-TESTINSTALL

Creating a Duplicate Local Test board from you Live Board.
Setting up a test board for upgrade is fairly easy but time consuming.
In this section of this Tutorial is a guide for those that have never attempted to create a backup test site of the original live site for upgrade compatibility or other testing purposes.
For those of you creating a local test server on your own computer using server software like Wamp, Xampp or Mamp. Follow these easy steps.
Make a duplicate copy of your forum site by downloading it via FTP Forum Root to a location on your PC. Now log into your cpanel, PhpMyAdmin and Export the compete associated database.
In this example we will be using the Wamp environment.
Copy your forum site files into your Wamp - www directory example (C:\wamp\www\test-forum) Go into Wamp via your browser PhpMyAdmin, create a new database and Import the newly saved database into it.
In your forum directory C:\wamp\www\test-forum find  your conf_global.php.
In your conf_global.php settings you need to change these settings.
$INFO['sql_database'] = 'original';   to
$INFO['sql_database'] = 'new_db_name';   and
$INFO['board_url'] = 'http://example.com/forum';   to
$INFO['board_url'] = 'http://example.com/test-forum';
And the same with the sql user if needed.
$INFO['sql_user']    = 'tester';
Now go to the ACP System Settings - General Configuration make all pertinent changes to Path to 'upload' directory and Upload URL. You can find the hint to these new URL's below the text boxes for example: "IP.Board has detected your uploads path as: D:/wamp/www/test-forum/uploads" and IP.Board has detected your uploads url as:
These changes will also need to be made in IP.Blog Settings and IP.Gallery if you have them.
Go to System - Server Environment - Settings: Server Environment click on Update Settings. This will Sync your new server location settings in your new database.
Next go to Look & Feel - Disable or remove all 3rd party skins.
Go to Template Tools in the left side panel  check all boxes under - Rebuild Master Skin Data click the Rebuild button. When this is finished click Recache Skin Sets after.
Go back to System and Cache Management. Click on Rebuild Global Chaches Cache, Rebuild FURL Cache and then Recache ALL. Though some will say this is not necessary but trust me on this. Your IPS 4 upgrade will love you for doing these.
Next back under System - Manage Applications & Modules - Disable all 3rd party Apps then click Recache Apps & Modules.
Next step Manage Hooks - Disable all 3rd party hooks then click Reimport Application Hooks...
Now lastly before doing the actual upgrade go back to your testboard front end via your browser and test to see if all is working correctly. Making sure it is an exact mirror to your live board.
***NOTE***
As you make these changes in the ACP and save each they are also saved in the new Database.

(After creating a 3.4.7 test install and all is working....)
​ Create a _347 backup folder move all the existing files into it. Thus creating a complete backup of the board you are working with. Do the same with your database by backing it up to another name like "new347-backup". You can do this in PhpMyAdmin.
If you have IP.Downloads, you will want to copy (duplicate) the following folders from your _347 backup directory you just made back to your forum root. downloads, public, screenshots, uploads and conf_global.php.
If you do not have IP.Downloads than all you need to copy back to the root is your public and uploads folders with the conf_global.php.
So if your new forum root directory for the test upgrade is named "my-testboard" or "my-testboard.com" the above files need to be copied there.
After this has been completed copy your latest IPS4 beta files you downloaded from the client center to the forum root "my-testboard" or "my-testboard.com" with the other files you just put  there. Start the upgrade if it asks for your license key, add it but remember to use -TESTINSTALL immediately after the license key. 1234567890-12345-123-12345-1234567890-TESTINSTALL.

source
not my tutorial but hope it helps

Posted Image


#2 NikoCodex

NikoCodex

    Advanced Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 May 2015 - 09:13 PM

One question, can i use the 3.4.x themes and applications on 4.0? Thanks

#3 _.:illus!on:._

_.:illus!on:._

    Community Manager

  • Community Manager
  • 2,640 posts

Donator

Posted 04 May 2015 - 09:19 PM

nothing from 3.x.x will work on 4.x.x
Posted Image

#4 X3nO

X3nO

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • LocationPoland :)

Posted 08 May 2015 - 01:40 AM

I have a question, MySQL database from IPB 3.4.7 work on IPS 4.0? Sorry for my bad English, I from Poland.

#5 Janno

Janno

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 May 2015 - 06:37 PM

View PostproX3nO, on 08 May 2015 - 01:40 AM, said:

I have a question, MySQL database from IPB 3.4.7 work on IPS 4.0? Sorry for my bad English, I from Poland.
Yes, the whole DB can be ported over if you use the upgrade functionality.

#6 _.:illus!on:._

_.:illus!on:._

    Community Manager

  • Community Manager
  • 2,640 posts

Donator

Posted 13 May 2015 - 12:53 AM

this is not the support section
Posted Image

#7 itan

itan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 19 June 2015 - 02:34 AM

trying this two days i follow every step and after finish install  i cant login  its say requested url cannot be found also cant register  i understand this is not support topic just wonder  how you people install this i mean upgrade

#8 Ghost RideR

Ghost RideR

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 19 June 2015 - 05:32 PM

That converter is not available on this forum ! ;) Can someone share ?

Edited by Ghost RideR, 19 June 2015 - 05:38 PM.


#9 itan

itan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 19 June 2015 - 06:09 PM

http://invision-viru...utf8-converter/

#10 _.:illus!on:._

_.:illus!on:._

    Community Manager

  • Community Manager
  • 2,640 posts

Donator

Posted 20 June 2015 - 08:19 AM

https://community.in...s-to-know-r136/
Posted Image

#11 Ghost RideR

Ghost RideR

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 20 June 2015 - 01:01 PM

Download latest converter from here - http://invision-viru...converter-1118/

#12 itan

itan

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 20 June 2015 - 07:28 PM

Is there any guide for idiots like me  who don't understand a word :(

Edited by itan, 20 June 2015 - 07:31 PM.


#13 DaBeast

DaBeast

    XF Administrator

  • Administrator
  • 663 posts

Posted 13 July 2015 - 09:17 PM

View Postitan, on 20 June 2015 - 07:28 PM, said:

Is there any guide for idiots like me  who don't understand a word :(

Yeah, If your upgrading from IPS3 to IPS4 then just upload IPS4 files over IPS3, and run the upgrade.
That's what IPS had to say about it when someone asked how to upgrade IPB3 to IPB4.

Need Support? Use the support forumsDon't PM Staff for support


#14 Crizalid

Crizalid

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 July 2016 - 11:31 PM

Hi all
Thanks thelinkz for everything and special thank for _.:illus!on:._
I get this error

Quote

Unknown column 'pp_cover_photo' in 'where clause'
C:\wamp\www\elite\system\Db\Select.php::408

SELECT MAX(member_id) FROM `core_members` WHERE NULLIF(pp_cover_photo, '') IS NOT NULL OR NULLIF(pp_main_photo, '') IS NOT NULL

http://imgur.com/A7QI2mA

Help me please

Edited by Crizalid, 15 July 2016 - 11:33 PM.


#15 _.:illus!on:._

_.:illus!on:._

    Community Manager

  • Community Manager
  • 2,640 posts

Donator

Posted 16 July 2016 - 12:19 AM

View Post_.:illus!on:._, on 13 May 2015 - 12:53 AM, said:

this is not the support section

Posted Image

#16 Crizalid

Crizalid

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 16 July 2016 - 01:02 AM

Ok thanks _.:illus!on:._

Edited by Crizalid, 16 July 2016 - 01:02 AM.


#17 johnnyusa

johnnyusa

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 29 July 2016 - 04:20 PM

Thanks alot for this guide, it really helped with my transition to the new IPB generation.

#18 Coruja

Coruja

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 August 2016 - 04:39 PM

I don't know if it's already fixed, but a long time ago when I updated from 3.4.6 to 4.0.7 the UTF8 Database Converter 1.1.18 messed my entire database. It changed the database from ISO-8859 to UTF8 and all posts and topic names with special characters (á, é, í, ó, ú, ã, õ, ã, ç, ...) got ripped off after these characters. I have no idea why, because UTF8 have support for all these characters too

eg:
this post: this post is abóut something
become this: this post is ab

no problem if you have a small forum with just a few posts. But now just imagine the mess on an forum with 150.000+ posts using an default language that have many words with special characters. As I already said, idk if this is already fixed on newest IPB / converter, but I'm here just to leave my 2 cents: NEVER update from IPB 3.x.x to 4.x.x without first backup your entire sql database + all your files

Edited by Coruja, 04 August 2016 - 04:57 PM.


#19 andreww

andreww

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 April 2017 - 03:19 AM

Quick question, may seem dumb but had to know.

Can I just start off with the IPB 4.1 forums or do I need the 3.4 first and than upgrade to the 4.1 or 4.0?
Posted Image

#20 _.:illus!on:._

_.:illus!on:._

    Community Manager

  • Community Manager
  • 2,640 posts

Donator

Posted 11 April 2017 - 04:51 AM

you can start with what you want
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ips4

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users